Sustainable Business Committee

Chair Sustainable Business Committee

Dutch business = sustainable business = better business


The Sustainable Business Committee is an initiative aimed to provide a network for professionals to share knowledge and information on how to drive business performance in synch with making a positive impact on the environment and society in ASEAN, Asia and beyond.

With a growing world population nearing 9 billion people, a complex set of global, societal and environmental challenges need to be addressed now. Not only the scarcity of resources like raw materials, energy and water but also social inequality, health, well-being, the ageing population and climate change are among the issues that provide significant threats AND opportunities for businesses. Companies, governments, not-for-profits and academia have a crucial role to play in this process of transformation. Innovative products, services and entirely new collaborative business models that address our global sustainability challenges are the way forward to contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals and to make global improvements at pace and at scale.


Dutch companies are leading the way in sustainable business and are very active in further expanding, locally adapting as well as sharing their experience in platforms such as the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD, or BCSD), the Dutch Sustainable Growth Coalition (DSGC), the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) and the Dutch Chamber of Commerce in Singapore.


Resources and links


Year Plan 2018

  • January
    Rabobank: Water
  • April
    Brill: Human Rights
  • June
    Tri-sector collaboration
  • October
    Unilever: Packaging and waste management


Committee members

  • Ghislaine Nadaud, ABN AMRO, Chair
  • Amita Chaudhury, Unilever
  • Christina Celestine, DSM
  • Mitchell Leow, Heineken
  • Oscar Wezenbeek, AkzoNobel
  • Tai Djoe Lim, Rabobank
  • Shayne Prashan, ING Bank
  • Jason Leow & Jason Plamodon, Shell
  • Ashwin Subramaniam, Gone Adventurin
  • Marc van Loo, Loola Adventure
  • Liesbeth Kanis, Brill
  • Nadim van der Ros, Be an Idea


Ghislaine Nadaud